Terms and Agreement Index

A. Privacy, Security and Communication

B. User WBarning Policy

C. Member Use and Fees

Why store food labels can not always be trusted.

Researchers tested 140 different food samples purchased at the grocery store to see whether people who suffer from gluten sensitivity could safely eat them.The researchers tested a variety of products likely to contain wheat, including gums, alcohol, soy sauce, vinegars, and malt liquors, as well as "wheat-free" products. Overall, 16% of the products tested contained wheat proteins . 20% of the products labeled wheat-free actually contained some wheat protein -- even exceeding current labeling guidelines for gluten-free.

(As Much as 20% of Wheat-Free Foods Contain Detectable Amount of Wheat Proteins, By Melissa Schorr, Monday, from 60th Annual Meeting, San Francisco, March 19-23, 2004.)

Next Page